Another Wednesday is here and that means a brand new batch of comics are here and a new Walking Dead is right on top. Sounds like a good day to me.

DC

Arrow #23 (digital first)
Batgirl #18
Batman #18
Batman and Robin #18
Deathstroke #18
Demon Knights #18
Green Lantern Corps #18
Injustice: Gods Among Us #9 (digital first)
Katana #2
Suicide Squad #18
Superboy #18
Team 7 #6
The Ravagers #10
Threshold #3

Dynamite

Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time Eye of the World #33

Image

The Walking Dead #108

Marvel

Fantastic Four #5
Fearless Defenders #2
Thunderbolts #6 (reviewing for Marvel Disassembled)

Comments
  1. wwayne says:

    Let’s summarize the plot of Katana # 1 and 2.
    There is a gang (probably related to an oriental cult) which goes after Katana and fights her (probably to rob her sword). Katana becomes friend with a member of that gang, and persuades him to become her mole.
    He brings her to a meeting of the whole gang, and you tell yourself: “Now Katana will pretend to be his girlfriend, and listen to what they’re saying in order to get as many informations as possible.” Miss Nocenti decided to follow a less expected path: during that meeting, Katana immediately reveals her identity, and this leads to an action packed scene.
    At the end of that scene, Katana is the winner, of course, and you tell yourself “Now the leader of the gang will say something like “I’ll take my revenge”.” For the second time, miss Nocenti chooses to go in a less expected direction: the leader asks Katana to join the gang! And, even more surprisingly, she says yes, because, as she says in a thought bubble, “I will consider getting close to my enemy, but only to kill him.” FANTASTIC!!! Do you agree?

    • I’m not sure I’m ready to call Katana fantastic or put it up on a level with Hawkeye just yet, but you’re right, it is nice to see a writer take things in unexpected directions as superhero comics do have a tendency to become rather predictable the more you read them. We’ll have to see if Miss Nocenti continues that trade in this week’s issue. It’s also nice to see DC trying out solo titles for relatively less explored, at least to my knowledge, and less mainstream characters like Katana. Vibe is another character with a solo book in that vein that has me intrigued through the first few issues.

      I guess on both series I’m just reserving judgment until I see a little more, like maybe a trades worth of issues.

      • wwayne says:

        I didn’t read anything of Vibe yet, but I saw the previews for issues # 1 and # 2, and I was delighted by the fact that both of them started with a slice of life moment. I’m a big fan of the “superhero living a normal life” scenes, so, when I saw those previews, I instantly thought “I must start reading Vibe as soon as possible.” The problem is, the 1st trade won’t be on the shelves until 2014, and I don’t want to wait so long, so I must catch up in some other way. Probably I’ll look for it on ebay.
        The abundance of slice of life moments was the main reason why I enjoyed Blue Beetle so much. That marvellous series didn’t focus only on Jaime’s fights with this villain or that, but also on his school life, his best friend Paco, the girl Jaime had a crush on, Brenda… also, the moments he shared with these characters were not useless: on the contrary, those relationships deeply influenced Jaime’s career as a superhero, because one of his main villains was Brenda’s aunt, and Paco became a villain too after some years… it’s so sad that Blue Beetle is gone for good.
        Last year I bumped into a preview of Young Avengers # 1 (http://ardatli.livejournal.com/31321.html),: it showed only one page, but I really liked what I saw. And you know why? Exactly because that page focused on a slice of life moment.
        Teen-drama-like comics usually are full of moments like that, and this is the main reason why I love them. Another reason is, they mitigate my nostalgia for some cancelled teen dramas like Beverly Hills 90210 and Dawson’s Creek. I know that Beverly Hills 90210 has been rebooted, but, apart from the pilot, I never watched 90210, because it doesn’t have a grain of the magic atmosphere the ’90s series had, in my opinion. But I’m going off the point, so I’d better end my comment. : )

      • Slice of life moments were definitely one of the main features of the Blue Beetle book for sure. While the book may be gone, Blue Beetle has and undoubtedly will continue to show up in the pages of Threshold, though that’s more of an ensemble book then a solo title and I wouldn’t expect to see the same kind of slice of life stuff there. When it comes to Vibe, I think I’m safe in saying those previews didn’t lie. From what I’ve read so far, it seems like his brother and father will be playing a large role in his early days as a superhero. And Young Avengers certainly appears as if it will be the same deal as well, with Wiccan’s parents and Hulkling’s mother playing a big part at least in the first arc.

  2. wwayne says:

    I’m glad that Vibe and Young Avengers are giving a large role to the parents and relatives of their leading characters, because I think that, to make a great series, you have to form a great cast of supporting characters. If all the attention is focused on the leading character, sooner or later readers will get bored with him/her.
    For example, I’m a huge fan of Daredevil, but I think I would love him much less, if his world weren’t populated by great supporting characters like Foggy, Matt’s former lovers, Kingpin… especially mr. Fisk, who is one of the best comic book villains ever, in my opinion.
    Another character I’m a huge fan of is Grifter, and I’ll try to explain you why.
    As you know, in the 20 years old action movies I love so much there was a Rambo – like leading character (usually played by Stallone himself, or by Schwarzenegger) forced to fight against innumerous enemies: any other man would have been doomed, but our hero, with his guns, muscles, fight techniques and (last but not least) brain, was always able to find a way out.
    Grifter is exactly like this: no matter how many enemies he has to face and how complicated their plans are, you can be sure he will find a solution to all his problems. Like Batman, a big part of Grifter’s charm is his talent in getting out of troubles despite being a normal person, without superpowers. There’s only one, big difference between them: Batman is a hunter, while Grifter is a prey – but he’s the shiftiest prey you’ve ever met.
    These are the reasons why Grifter is one of my favorite comic book characters. The others are Batman, Daredevil, Green Arrow, Nightwing, the Punisher and the current Blue Beetle (listed in no particular order).

    • You don’t need to give me reasons to love Grifter. When I was first getting into The New 52, which was about a year after it launched, I saw a preview of Grifter #1 that called him Wolverine meets Punisher meets Han Solo, and I think that’s pretty accurate. You’re right though, he does have a certain amount of Batman in him as well. Towards the end of the run though he’s definitely rocking some powers, so we can probably add Return of the Jedi Luke Skywalker to his list of parts as well.

      That’s a pretty good looking lists of favourites you have there. I can’t really argue with your choices, but personally I’d switch out Daredevil, Punisher and Blue Beetle for Deadpool, Hawkeye and Gambit, but that’s me. Also, Harley Quinn, because she’s just so nuts I can’t resist. And now you have a disturbing little insight into me…you’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

