Ok, so starting here and carrying on every week, since I just don’t have time to review every new release I read each week, I’ll be presenting a rundown of my impressions of the books I bought. Optimally this will go up every Friday, but it’s dependant on much reading time I actually get. Now, these are my personal opinions, these things are entirely subjective. Just because I like or dislike a book doesn’t mean you will feel the same way.

Now, the way this is going to work is I will give each book a rating out of 5 stars. I will then be choosing one Marvel book, one DC book and one book that is from another publisher that I saw as the best in each of those categories each week. Finally I will be picking out what I see as the five best from the books I bought that week. For the star system I’m trying to keep it simple: 1 star = dislike, 2 stars = neither like or dislike, 3 stars = like, 4 stars = really like 5 stars = amazing

DC Comics

Action Comics #18 – 3 stars
Arrow #24 (digital first) – 3 stars
Batwoman #18 – 3 stars
Birds of Prey #18 – 3 stars
Catwoman #18 – 4 stars
Constantine #1 – 4 stars
DC Universe Presents #18 – 2 stars
Green Lantern: New Guardians #18 – 2 stars
Injustice: Gods Among Us #10 – 3 stars
Justice League #18 – 4 stars
Justice League of America #2 – 4 stars
Justice League of America’s Vibe #2 – 3 stars
Legion of Super-Heroes #18 – 2 stars
Nightwing #18 – 4 stars
Red Hood and the Outlaws #18 – 3 stars
Supergirl #18 – 3 stars
Sword of Soecery #6 – 3 stars
Wonder Woman #18 – 4 stars

Image Comics

Invincible #101 – 3 stars

Marvel Comics

Deadpool #6 – 4 stars
Indestructible Hulk #5 – 5 stars

Best of DC – Wonder Woman #18 – 4 stars
Best of Marvel – Indestructible Hulk #5 – 5 stars
Best of Other – Invincible #101 – 3 stars

Top 5:

5. Nightwing #18 – 4 stars
4. Catwoman #18 – 4 stars
3. Constantine #1 – 4 stars
2. Wonder Woman #18 – 4 stars

Pick of the Week – Indestructible Hulk #5 – 5 stars

Comments
  1. wwayne says:

    Constantine, exactly like Cable, is another character I’m deeply fond of despite having a very little experience with him. Constantine is a so interesting character that, no matter if you build a solo series around him or give him only a cameo role, he will always be the character who impresses the reader most.
    For example, when he appeared in Animal Man, all the other characters instantly became wallflowers. I call this “Marlon Brando effect”, because, when Brando was on the scene, you really couldn’t pay attention to the other actors: all you could notice was him and his extraordinary talent.

    • That’s a perfect way to describe Constantine. I had no experience with him either before The New 52, save for the Keanu Reeves movie, but he quickly became one of my favorite characters to read. I recently picked up a bunch of the old Hellblazer comics to better acquaint myself with Constantine, though I haven’t gotten around to reading them yet.

Leave a Reply

