Reviews – DC Comics: Legion of Super-Heroes #19

Posted: April 24, 2013 in Reviews - DC Comics
Tags: , , , , ,

Written By: Paul Levitz
Art By:  Jeff Johnson, Scott Kolins
Price: $2.99

The bad times just continue to get worse and worse for the Legion as the Fatal Five’s attack kicks into gear and the United Planet’s crumble. And when I say bad, I mean bad, as next to nothing goes right for the Legionnaires in this issue.

The Legion’s battle with the Fatal Five continues to rage on two fronts and develops on two more. As with any villainous alliance however, we do begin to see cracks developing with the Five here. At the rate the Legion and the United Planets are being destroyed however, it seems like those cracks may not matter until the Five are left alone to fight over the pieces of the galaxy. Or, their plans will implode and the Legion will come out victorious. For now though, it’s still too early to tell and the Fatal Five definitely has the upper hand.

I’ll be upfront here, I haven’t been a big fan of this series to this point. Maybe it’s the cosmic scale, something which generally speaking doesn’t appeal to me in my superhero books. Perhaps it’s the sheer abundance of characters covered in the book that for the most part I’m coming in unfamiliar with. Or maybe Legion of Super-Heroes is just sitting in the shadow of Legion Lost which I found to be a much more entertaining series. Whatever the reason, this issue is an exception. Maybe at this point I just enjoy watching the Legion get beaten into oblivion, but there was definitely something in this issue that appealed to me and I actually quite enjoyed it.

Score: 7.0

Comments
  1. collegestudentessentials says:

    Reblogged this on Ladies and Comics and commented:
    Thanks for the review! There is no chance you have a cover scan is there?

    • All my comics are digital so no cover scan here, sorry. Google Images would be my suggestion for that. Now that you mention it though I should start putting the cover images on the review posts if I can.

Leave a Reply

