Reviews – Image Comics: Invincible Universe #2

Posted: May 8, 2013 in Reviews - Image Comics
Tags: , , , ,

3015570-prv16327_cov

Written By: Phil Hester
Art By:  Todd Nauck
Price: $2.99

So, let’s get this out of the way right off shall we. It may bear his name, but this I not Invincible, and as you can see above, Robert Kirkman isn’t writing this book. Ok, now that that’s clear in all our minds, I can touch on this as well. I was a little, let’s call it underwhelmed, by the first issue of this book, mainly because going in I hadn’t realized that Robert Kirkman wasn’t doing the writing and I also wasn’t sure how large or small a role Invincible himself was going to play in the book. The answer to that for issue #1 was very small indeed.

Now that I’ve caught you up on my feeling regarding issue #1 we can get to the current issue, and I’ll tell you right off that I found it to be an improvement over the first issue and a good step towards erasing any doubts I might have about the quality of the series. What’s likely going to be the hardest part in dealing with this title is it looks like there are going to be a lot of characters involved. Invincible Universe, as the name might imply, goes above and beyond being just a team book. In this issue in particular there is a moment where, I’m going to say every hero under the Skybound imprint, though I may be wrong, are thrown at us all at once, and being that the only other Skybound books I read are Invincible and The Walking Dead, I had no idea who the majority of them were. I will give Phil Hester the benefit of the doubt though, after that one look at everybody, the focus did narrow somewhat and we were given the opportunity to get a bit closer to individual characters. The two most interesting for me were Chupacabra and Code Blue who appear to be rather fun, energetic characters.

I was a bit unsure after issue #1, but if Phil Hester can continue with what he did in issue #2, presenting us with a large scale view of the Invincible Universe while still coming in to give us a more intimate view of individual characters, then this could prove to be a very interesting title. He and Todd Nauck evidently have a lot of characters they can play with so this one could have legs for a very long time.

Score: 7.5

Leave a Reply

