Wednesday is here and as always that means it’s time for new comics. And I have to say, this is looking like it’s going to be an interesting week. First and foremost, the finale of Wrath of the First Lantern is here, with not just one, but three Lantern-verse books, headlined by the 78-page Green Lantern #20, the last issue of the series to be written by Geoff Johns. Then, the road to the Trinity War continues in Justice League #20 and Justice League Dark #20. On top of that we have new issues in some of my personal favorites, Powers: The Bureau, Sex and Deadpool. And finally, not to be forgotten, the debuts of The Green Team: Teen Trillionaires; the counterpart to The Movement, which debuted a few weeks ago and which I was very impressed by, and The Bounce; the new book from Sex writer Joe Casey. For the full list of this weeks new releases check out Comic List.

DC Comics

All Star Western #20
Aquaman #20
Arrow #33 (digital first)
Batman Incorporated #11
Batman: The Dark Knight #20
The Flash #20
The Fury of Firestorm: The Nuclear Man #20
Green Lantern #20
Green Lantern: New Guardians #20
The Green Team: Teen Trillionaires #1
Injustice: Gods Among Us #20 (digital first)
Justice League #20
Justice League Dark #20
Red Lanterns #20
The Savage Hawkman #20
Superman #20
Talon #8 (reviewing)
Teen Titans #20

Dynamite Entertainment

Masks #7: Digital Exclusive Edition

Icon Comics

Powers: The Bureau #4

Image Comics

The Bounce #1
Sex #3 (reviewing)

Marvel Comics

Deadpool #10 (reviewing)
Fantastic Four #8
Fearless Defenders #4au

Comments
  1. wwayne says:

    There are some things of Deadpool I like, and some others I don’t like at all.
    Pros: 4th wall breaking; irony; frequent action packed scenes.
    Cons: disfigured leading character (it really hurts my eye when he takes his mask off…); not very intriguing plots.
    Let’s say that I consider Deadpool a character with a great potential, but each time I read a comic book featuring him I never found it particularly interesting, apart from the 1st trade of Thunderbolts, which I enjoyed very much (even if the plot became much confused when the various Thunderbolts members parted from each other and started fighting on their own).

    • I can’t deny that Deadpool has his pros and cons, as a great deal of books and characters tend to. And I admit, personally I probably like him more as a character concept and personality then as the actual central figure of particular books or stories. I have been enjoying his current solo series a great deal though. I think Brian Posehn has been doing a great job with it.

      He is definitely a very action-heavy character by nature which, along with his absurd/dumb comedy is what makes him entertaining. The 4th wall breaking is fun but better in small doses, see Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe to see what happens when the gimmick is overused. I won’t harp on your problems with his in-costumed looks because that kind of thing is completely subjective, but for me that’s one of the things that make him so unique. I can’t think of that many disfigured, legitimately insane lead characters. Also it’s a good reason for him to be in costume 99% of the time.

      I’m not sure which Thunderbolts trade you’re referring to so I can’t really comment. I won’t get into my feeling on the current series here as I’ve detailed them pretty well in my various reviews of it. But the one trade I’ve read, by Warren Ellis, set around the Civil War, was absolutely fantastic. I don’t recall Deadpool being part of the story though.

      • wwayne says:

        I was referring to a recently released trade collecting issues # 1 – 6 of the current Marvel NOW! Thunderbolts series. I’ll check out Ellis’ version of the Thunderbolts too. Thank you for the recommendation and for your reply! : )

Leave a Reply

