Reviews – Image Comics: Invincible Universe #3

Posted: June 12, 2013 in Reviews - Image Comics
Tags: , , , ,

292683_10151399344345685_1295622408_n

Written By: Phil Hester
Art By: Todd Nauck / Colors By: Gabe Eltaeb / Letters By: Rus Wooton
Price: $2.99

Well, look at this, last month I said the Chupacabra and Code Blue were the characters I found most interesting in Invincible Universe #2. Now this month, what do we have in Invincible Universe #3? Why it’s a Chupacabra issue. How does he hold up going from a part of the ensemble to the star of the show? Quite well as a matter of fact.

Now, first off, I have to note that this is one of those out-of-costume superhero comic issues. That is to say that past the cover and the first few pages, which are flashbacks/dreams, Francisco Vasquez never dons the Chupacabra costume. But you know what? That’s all right. It makes perfect sense for the story Phil Hester is telling because really, it’s not a Chupacabra story, it’s a Francisco story. And it’s a good one too. Over the span of the 20-page story those of us mostly unfamiliar with the character, such as myself, are given a much more rounded look at Francisco Vasquez then was possible in his brief appearance in the previous issue. Yes, he is the fun, energetic character that got my attention last issue, but there is a lot more to him as well. He has a serious side to his personality that is on full display here. And without ever using the words, Phil Hester conveys that concepts such honor, respect and responsibility certainly have important meaning in Francisco’s life. But the crux of the story, revealed very early on, is that Francisco is a recovering alcoholic who is going through the twelve step program. I know that makes this sound like a bit of a heavy issue, and to a degree I suppose that it is, but there is definitely no shortage of action and as I said, Francisco is still the same fun, energetic character. He’s just got some layers to him. That’s what good characters have.

Alright, I think I’m there now folks. I think that I am a believer in this book. I wasn’t sure after issue #1, but last issue was a step in the right direction. And this issue, Phil Hester showed me it doesn’t have to be about throwing everybody into the story for something big and bombastic. He showed me that he can strip these issues down to just being about one character and still make them entertaining. If the Invincible Universe continues to deliver issues like this one, then I’ll be sticking with them for as long as they have stories to tell.

Score: 8.5

Leave a Reply

