What I ___ Today: Sept. 17, 2014

Posted: September 17, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , ,

What I Bought Today

So today I went on a little bit of a spending spree (and I’m not even referring to comics, even though it is new comic book day). With a little bit of added justification in that these are all items at least loosely related to the new direction I have set myself on to fill my free time outside of work, I purchased the following:

ViewSonic TD2220

Viewsonic-TD2220

Yes, a new monitor. Why? Well, the justification is that if I’m going to be streaming on Twitch, it just makes sense to have a second monitor in order to view the chat. The real reason though, is that not so long ago I transitioned from using a laptop connected to my TV by HDMI to a desktop using that same TV as the primary monitor and I’ve honestly missed having a two screen setup. Why a touch screen monitor though? Well, the idea here is for this to be a secondary monitor with the TV remaining the primary, so since I’m using Windows 8, a touch screen just seemed to make sense.

Turtle Beach Ear Force PX22

large_px22_5

Next up, a brand new headset. This one has a pretty simple explanation, if I’m going to be streaming on Twitch and doing YouTube content, it’s something of a good idea for me to have a microphone so I can provide commentary. Plus, I’ve been using earbuds since I broke my old headet (damn you Volgarr the Viking!), and they really are just not the same.

Razer Sabertooth

razer-sabertooth-controller_front

And finally, a new controller for the PC, because sometimes a mouse and keyboard just doesn’t cut it. No more explanation is needed here I don’t think, I can’t imagine I’m the only one who doesn’t want to play games like Mortal Kombat on a keyboard. Alright, yes, I may have been swayed here by the Razer brand and the pretty buttons. And yes, maybe I broke my old controller (Shao Kahn made me do it), but I can’t very well be expected to play action/adventure games on mouse and keyboard can I?

So, that’s my little spending spree for the day, if Amazon is true to its word these should all be arriving tomorrow. Perhaps I celebrate by streaming my attempt to finish the Mortal Kombat 9 story. Or, you know, maybe something less likely to make me break my brand new toys (I get angry at games sometimes ok, sue me).

Leave a Reply

