What I ___ Today: Sept. 25, 2014

Posted: September 25, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , , , , ,

What I Played Today: Gods Will Be Watching

So going in I really didn’t know a whole lot about this game. this was my first time actually playing after having bought the game about two months ago when it came out. So why did I buy it if I didn’t really know anything about it? Basically because it was only $10 and I thought the trailer made it look intriguing. So, from the trailer my initial impression of the game was that it was going to be more of a choice-based adventure where you have to make difficult decisions in the same vain as a game like The Walking Dead from Telltale Games. However, once I actually started playing that isn’t what I found Gods Will Be Watching to be. As you’ll see in the videos below, I was unable to make it past the first stage/mission of the game and I can’t decide if it’s because the game is that hard or if I just suck at it.

In the first mission of the game, you are tasked with watching over a group of four hostages while simultaneously assisting your comrades, one of which is maintaining internet security so the groups leader can perform a very drawn out hacking process, and the other is tasked with holding off the ever approaching guards outside the room. While certainly forcing you to make choices, it wasn’t the choose a,b or c and move on kind of choice I was expecting. What it quickly devolves into though is a battle of micromanagement against the games systems as you try to find a balances between the three things that need your attention and your frustration quickly mounts. I’m not sure if I’m going to go back to this game anytime soon, though I do believe there is supposed to be a less punishing mode, so I may check that out at some point.

I apologize for the stream being broken haphazardly into two parts, but Twitch and XSplit both did some odd things with the recordings so I did the best I could to get the videos up on YouTube (I still don’t have editing software).

Leave a Reply

