What I Got Today: Loot Crate

Technically I got this in the mail a couple of days ago, but I didn’t get around to actually opening it today. So I’ve been a Looter for about 8 months and I gotta say, opening up these packages every month is a treat, both because you never know what’s going to be inside them, and because what is inside is always so cool. Now, I admit, routinely the highlight for me is the shirts that often come in them, because, well, I love stupid/nerdy/random t-shirts. This month though, no shirt. A bit of a disappointment, sure. But all same, this may be the best shirtless crate I’ve gotten to this point. First up, let’s give you a look at the whole haul (the theme for the month was “Galactic”):

LootCrate_Sept_Haul

Now, let’s check out my personal highlights this month:

– Han Solo in Carbonite poster

LootCrate_Sept_HanSoloPoster

I’m a little ashamed to admit this, but as big of a Star Wars fan as I am, I don’t actually have any Star Wars posters (and yet Vito Corleone and Tony Montana are still hanging on my walls from almost 10 years ago). So, needless to say, I was very happy to see this. The images from this franchise don’t get much more iconic than this one.

– Tribble

LootCrate_Sept_Tribble

I’m not actually that big of a Star Trek fan (I did kinda just make it clear I’m more a Star Wars guy), and when I do watch Star Trek, it’s more likely to be The Next Generation or the J.J. Abrams movies, not The Original Series, regardless of how wonderful my Canadian brother William Shatner may be. That said, Tribbles are one of the most highly recognizable things associated with The Original Series and seeing this little toy, for no apparent reason, put a big smile on my face.

– The Official Currency of the Union of Allied planets

LootCrate_Sept_FireflyMoney

I admit it, I didn’t immediately recognize what this was from, I had to consult the booklet that came with this month’s crate to see that it was from Firefly. Upon learning that though, this item went from ‘hey, that looks cool’ to ‘oh my god, that’s so cool!’ What can I say, Firefly ranks behind only Star Wars as far as live-action material set in space goes for me. I may put Mass Effect ahead of Firefly overall though, but that’d mostly be because I’ve invested so many more hours in that franchise.

– Malcolm Reynolds vinyl figure

LootCrate_Sept_MalFigure

I just made my feeling about Firefly pretty clear so I don’t need to say it again for this one. What I will say though, is that as soon I saw the possibilities on the back of this blind box, the Mal figure that I got was one of two choices I was hoping for, the other was the other available Firefly figure; Jayne. I almost would have preferred Jayne, mostly cause he’s wearing that damn hat (actually I really would have preferred Kaylee, but she doesn’t have a figure, at least not in this set), but I’m certainly not complaining about what I got. After all, ain’t no Browncoat in the ‘Verse wouldn’t follow the Cap’n into the depths of Reaver space or anywhere else he took a fancy.

Leave a Reply

