What I ___ Today: Sept. 29, 2014

Posted: September 30, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , ,

What I Watched Today: Sword Art Online (episode 13) and Akame ga Kill (episode 13)

Sword Art Online:

SwordArtOnline2

So the fight with Death Gun within GGO (and the BoB tournament as well) is over and at least one of his real world accomplices has been revealed, sort of. I know, technically speaking Shinkawa is the original in game Death Gun, but he let his brother control Sterben for BoB because he wanted to be the one in the room with Sinon/Asada. I’m a little disappointed in myself for not seeing Shinkawa’s true nature until shortly before the reveal in this episode (it hit me about the time Sinon and Kirito were logging out. What wasn’t surprising is just how rape-y things got after the reveal. This is Sword Art Online after all. For everything I like about this show, it’s pretty sad that I’m more surprised when the story doesn’t go to that same old rape-y place. On the plus side, Shinkawa still isn’t as creepy as Sugou was in Season 1.

I guess the question now is where do we go from here? Obviously the story isn’t quite as once again the episode ended mid-fight, but I definitely can’t see the GGO/Death Gun story lasting another 11/12 episodes or whatever is left in the season. Unless they have a really hard time rounding everybody up.

SwordArtOnline2Episode13

Akame ga Kill:

AkameGaKill

Another episode down and still no more Night Raid deaths! Something’s gotta give pretty soon i’m sure, which is making this really tense. Which is why random nonsense like the “Tatsumi’s fly” scene is so great. Seriously, that scene may have been incredibly stupid, but it put a huge smile on my face. Susanoo and Akame were played to perfection here. Getting back to my fear that another Night Raid member dying is only a matter of time, I have to put my money on Lubbock. His friendship with Tatsumi has put him more front and center recently, and this episode we even got some backstory on him. That seems to me like it’s a pretty bad sign.

And on the topic of bad, from the episode’s last scene and the next episode preview, it looks like Tatsumi and Esdeath are going to be getting some more quality time together. So, that’s probably going to be pretty rough/awkward. But hey, maybe he’ll actually manage to convince her to come over to the good guys. Or, you know, not.

AkameGaKillEpisode13

Leave a Reply

