What I ___ Today: Sept. 30, 2014

Posted: September 30, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , , , ,

What I Watched Today: Gotham (episode 2)

GothamLogo

Last week, the highlights were definitely Harvey Bullock and Oswald Cobblepot. This week, i think that prize goes to Selina Kyle, sorry, I mean “Cat”. And that right there is my biggest problem with the character right now. I would be very easy for Selina to become the most interesting part of this show, she may very well do just that, but do we have to call her “Cat”? Really, guys? I mean, I get the thinking behind the decision. She grows up to be Catwoman, but she’s not Catwoman yet, so for now we’ll just call her “Cat”, just to make sure everybody knows this is Catwoman. Sure, I get it, but no. I don’t even care if it’s something they took right out of the comics (I’m not aware of it if it is), this is one of those things that’s just going to needle at me every time, like the Ivy Pepper thing from last week. Her name is Selina, so can we please just call her Selina? Other than the name thing though, I like her. Carmen Bicondova’s not bad and if we’re lucky she’ll only get better as we go.

As for the other significant positives for this episode; they toned down on the super-obvious fanboy bits from the first episode, and they managed to do the Dollmaker without actually doing the Dollmaker. Ok, that second one is a weird way to phrase a positive, but let’s be real, actually having the Dollmaker show up would get super weird, and while maybe we’ll be ready to go their at some point, episode 2 is not the time to get that weird. That they used the character though, even if only in name, was something I found very pleasing as his significant connection to the Joker in The New 52 is still fairly fresh in my mind. Other than the Dollmaker, and the “Cat” thing, the only other fanboy-ish thing I picked up on was the mention of Arkham Asylum, and even that didn’t feel that ham-fisted, so that’s definitely a step in the right direction.

On the negative side though, my general worry about the overall story, and the focus on young Bruce Wayne that comes with it, was not helped by this episode. Yes, it was a relatively minor factor this week, but I’m not sure I’ll ever be onboard with solving the Wayne’s murder being a major plot point for this season, or the series as a whole if it continues through this season. That murder is not one is meant to be solved, and if it was to be, Batman is the one who’d do it. I really do not want to see Joe Chill on this show, ever, for any reason, even as a cameo. Please don’t. And now we’re working Selina into that story as well? I can’t imagine I’m going to like what comes from that, it goes back to the forced connectedness I talked about last week. For other negatives, I gotta mention a couple of the actors unfortunately. I don’t know if it’s the Fish Mooney character or the way Jada Pinkett Smith is playing the role, but I don’t like her. Not in a ‘i hate her, she’s such a good villain’ way either, more of a ‘I wish she wasn’t onscreen’ sort of way. Then there’s Jim Gordon, kind of a pivotal role here right? i’m not saying I don’t like Ben McKenzie in the role just yet (I admit it, I watched The O.C., I like the guy) but something about it just isn’t working for me. Maybe it has something to do with Gary Oldman being the last one to fill the role and doing such a good job of it, I don’t know honestly.

And finally, to close on a but more of a positive note, I have to mention Richard Kind as Mayor Aubrey James. One, it was nice to see the character get more screen time this episode, and show a bit of a slimier side. And two, it was interesting for me to see Kind in that of a role as I’m most familiar with him as Paul Lassiter on Spin City more than ten years ago. While I don’t think we need to see the character every week, he’s another layer of corruption in the city to make things interesting for “Saint Jim”. Overall, not a bad second episode, but there’s definitely room for the show to get better, and I hope it does.

GothamEpisode2

Leave a Reply

