What I ___ Today: Oct. 4, 2014

Posted: October 4, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , ,

What I Watched Today: Star Wars Rebels (episodes 1 & 2)

StarWarsRebelsLogo

We’re off and running now folks. With last night’s hour-long premiere, Star Wars is back on your TV (or computer/tablet/phone) screens and this new cross-media canon is probably gonna start to get real crazy. But how does Rebels fare as the first watchable entry into the new Star Wars canon (as opposed to ‘A New Dawn’ which is the first readable entry)?

I’m happy to report that, well, I came out of the first two episodes happy, and ready for a lot more. I didn’t look at much information about the show in the months leading up to the premiere, so with the exception of Kanan and Hera, who starred in ‘A New Dawn’, which I just finished the other day (and which I will likely post more specifically about tomorrow), all the characters were pretty new to me.  Right from the start, the show is a lot of fun. And as you get deeper into it and see The Ghost’s crew come together and see their dynamic with each other, frankly it feels a whole lot like Star Wars of old. Obviously they are their own characters (and no where near as iconic) but i think Kanan, Hera, Zeb, Sabine, Ezra and Chopper fit just fine next to Luke, Leia, Han, Chewy, Artoo and Threepio. The action is on point, the jokes, while not always great, fit well, and it’s even got the feels in there…and apparently a master/apprentice dynamic as well, because what would Star Wars be without that. And that’s actually the part of the show that has me the most curious right now. I believe there’s supposed to be about five years between ‘A New Dawn’ and Rebels (feel free to correct me if I’ve got that wrong), but what I know of Kanan from that novel has me questioning what kind of a master he can possibly be to his new apprentice.

Overall though, as I said, I’m very happy right now. Rebels is off to a great start and it’s pretty cool knowing we’ve got at least two seasons worth of episodes to look forward to. The worst part right now is that we’ve got to wait 9 days (from this posting) for the next episode. That could be a little painful. Thankfully there’s two more comic book shows premiering this week to help fill the gap.

StarWarsRebelsEp2

Leave a Reply

