Review-a-day: Lobo #1

Posted: October 7, 2014 in Review-a-day
Tags: , , , , , ,

Lobo1

Let me admit this right upfront, I haven’t liked this version of the Lobo character since he was introduced into The New 52 (in Supergirl if I’m not mistaken). I mostly picked this up because it’s a new DC title. That said, I’m going to do my best not to let my opinion of the character color my thoughts on the book.

So, putting my thoughts on this Lobo as a character off to the side, let’s focus on the story that Cullen Bunn established for the book in this issue. That story has Lobo, fresh of removing the imposter (i.e. classic Lobo) from the equation, has been hired to eliminate “eight of the deadliest assassins in the universe.” I know, there are only “insert number here” stories in the world and everything now is just retelling them, but just off the top of my head this isn’t that far from being the plot to the “No More Heroes’ video game and I’m sure that’s far from the only example of this kind of story. I’m sure Cullen Bunn will put his own spin on things, but when “I’ve read this before” is the first thought you have upon the establishment of the plot, that’s a bad sign. Sticking with the No More Heroes comparison, in true beat-em-up game fashion, Lobo cuts and shoots his way through a bunch of minions before basically decimating the first assassin on his list. It’s the first issue, so I wasn’t expecting the most epic of fight scenes here, i just wanted to point it out since similarity occurred to me. There is one plot point that hasn’t been brought to light yet that could make things more interesting however. The premise here is that these assassins are all after the same target and Lobo is essentially playing bodyguard for that unknown target. That target certainly has the potential to make this an interesting story (but I’m betting Lobo probably is the target). This brings with it another problem sadly. Since all the assassins are going for the same target, they’re all more or less in one place. Guess what that place is? Earth, of course! Yup, an intergalactic assassin hunting eight other intergalactic assassins and the book is going to be set on Earth, at least to start. Perfect.

I’m not going to deny it, it’s entirely possible I’m sitting here picking away at this issue because I’m not overly fond of the new Lobo and would prefer the classic version, but I can’t help but feeling everything about this book is pretty generic right now. Hopefully Cullen Bunn brings something special through in the next few issues, because I would honestly love to love this series.

Lobo1_capture

Score: 5.0

Written By: Cullen Bunn
Art By: Reilly Brown, Nelson Decastro and Pete Pantazis
Letters By: Travis Latham
Price: $2.99

Leave a Reply

