What I ___ Today: Oct. 9, 2014

Posted: October 9, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , , ,

What i Watched Today; Arrow (episode 1)

ArrowLogo

Arrow is back and oh where do i even begin with this one. Oh, I know…Roy! When is exactly did Roy/Arsenal get so good at the hero thing, hmm? It started after he woke up at the end of season two and has only gotten more exaggerated with this episode. Hey, I’m happy to see him fully in that role now, it should add a cool dynamic to the season having the two of them running around, and I know the season 2.5 comic has been covering the inbetween and his early days in costume a little bit, but let’s be real here, he went from (to steal from Disney’s Hercules) zero to hero pretty fast. I’m not even talking just the bow and arrow stuff either, he’s rocking the parkour moves like Oliver now as well. I gotta say though, I’m not sure what it is, but Colton haynes just doesn’t wear the mask and hood as well as Stephen Amell.

On the subject of Oliver, boy did he crush Felicity and everyone who’s been “ship”ing the two of them since day one in this episode. Honestly, actually have them go for it and crash and burn so quickly was almost more cruel than the will-they-won’t-they that’s been going on for the past two seasons. The flip side of that coin though is the possibilities it presents for Felicity and newcomer Roy Palmer. Yes, I know there was a certain rivalry/animosity there this episode, but Palmer at least is definitely smitten with Felicity, and she was certainly impressed by him, until he kind of stole queen Consolidated away. And with the way things ended with Oliver and Felicity in this one, I wouldn’t be that surprised to see her give the future Atom another chance. The big question I have though, is what are the chances we see The Atom in miniature before Marvel’s Ant-Man hits theatres?

And then there’s the big finish. The scene I’m not even really going to talk about here because I don’t want to spoil it if you haven’t watched the episode yet. What I will say though, is that this scene has been somewhat inevitable since the character debuted. It was really just a matter of when it was going to happen. The question now is who was it that did the deed. The black arrows imply a Dark Archer or or the League of Assassins. I doubt it was Malcolm Merlyn as he doesn’t really have a reason to, and he did seem to be trying to turn over a new leaf at the end of last season (a little bit anyway). a leap of logic takes us next to Ra’s al’Ghul, who I believe is supposed to physically appear this season rather than just be mentioned, I can’t see him getting his hands dirty in this way though. So, let me go a bit outside the box here (keep in mind I haven’t been paying attention to the news about this season since I didn’t actually watch the last two episodes of season two until last week). How about, a resurrected Tommy Merlyn? A bit of a stretch maybe, but who better for Ra’s al’Ghul to put between himself and Oliver? Here’s looking forward to another wonderful season of Arrow.

Arrow_s3e01

Leave a Reply

