What I ___ Today: Oct. 12, 2014

Posted: October 12, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , ,

What I Watched Today: Log Horizon (episode 2) & Sword Art Online II (episode 14.5)

Log Horizon:

LogHorizon

It’s time for a raid! Well, not this episode, but soon. First, having left the rest of Log Horizon back in Akihabara, Shiroe and Naotsugu have a raid party to gather. This leads them to Susukino and a couple familiar faces, and one new one. I’ll tell you right now, the only complaint I can make about this episode is that my favorite, Akatsuki, isn’t in it very much, even still though, she does manage to get a wonderful and perfectly Akatsuki moment in there.

In fact, characters being exactly what we expect them to be is kind of a through line for this episode. Shiroe is perfectly Shiroe as he faces down Demikas (with calm and humour) for the first time since their epic confrontation the last time Shiroe was in Susukino. And Naotsugu, honestly, I don’t think he’s been this Naotsugu since the first few episodes of the series. The scene introducing Tetra (who falls somewhere between idol and magical girl) alongside Naotsugu and Regan is absolutely perfect and hilarious (at least if you enjoy immature and pervy humour). Seeing Naotsugu and Regan bond over their pervy natures in this scene was a lot of fun, probably more fun than it had any right to be really. And this scene, along with every other scene she’s in this episode, made it very clear to me that Tetra is going to be giving Akatsuki a serious challenge for the title of my favorite character this season. No question, she’s one of those characters you are either going to absolutely love, or find incredibly annoying, and I definitely fall into the former camp.

I don’t know if I just don’t remember the first season that well (it has been something like six months since the finally, that’s long time when you watch and read a lot of things) or if I was just in a special mood watching this episode, but I don’t remember the show being this funny before. It’s not all fun and games though, there is a sinister aspect to the end of the episode, which if you watched season one (and any amount of other anime) you can probably figure out just from what I said above. Two episodes in and we’re already building some momentum. I knew there was a good reason I’ve been waiting for this show to return.

LogHorizon_s2e02

Sword Art Online II:

SwordArtOnline2

There’s not a lot to say here. Episode 14.5. That pretty much says it all. If you watch anime you know the deal here, and even if you don’t you can probably figure it out. This is a recap episode. That’s all there is to it. If you’ve watched the first 14 episodes as I have, then there’s nothing new here for you. If you haven’t been watching but want to jump in without having to watch almost 6 hours of content to catch up, then by all means, start with this episode, it’ll tell you pretty much everything you need to know, and even include some of the rapey bits. I guess I could sit here and sum up my feeling on the first “half” of the season, but I feel like I’ve covered that pretty well talking about the last 6 episodes, so if you’re interested, you can check those out under the “Sword Art Online II” tag.

SwordArtOnline2Episode14-5

Leave a Reply

