What I ___ Today: Oct. 15, 2014

Posted: October 14, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , , ,

What I Watched Today: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (episode 4) & the Flash (episode 2)

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.:

AgentsofSHIELDLogo

I never really imagined that I was going to have to turn this space into a talk on corporate branding, but this week’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. was just begging for it. I’m calling you out Hydra (please don’t kill me). It’s time for some friendly advice, because somebody has to say it. Stop putting your logo on everything! Ok, the soldiers, that was one thing, they’re there to kill anyone who isn’t Hydra, so no one should be living to talk about the fact the logo was there. But seriously? On the file folders, in the room where you are pretending to be a General of the United Startes Army? No, I’m sorry, that’s just stupid guys.

Ok, there, now we can talk about the episode. It was a little bit slow and meandering for roughly the first half, spending a lot of time on character development and interaction, particularly on Fitz’s difficulty in dealing with the others members of the team since the injuries he sustained at the end of season one. While I appreciate this and it was certainly nice to see the team have a good bonding moment, particularly the second moment at the end, it does disappoint me a little bit to see Fitz starting to get pulled out of the darkness (I’m sorry, but it does). At the end of the day though, this was May’s episode. If there’s any doubt about that, all you’ve got to do is look at the fact that she played two roles, and even had a fight scene with herself. So yeah, just in case you forgot, she is team’s resident warrior.

No significant Marvel connections this episode, at least none that I picked up on, though I suppose we could call the masks Hydra agents use this issue Chameleon tech (I doubt Marvel Studios has the right to use a primarily Spider-Man character like him). That’s alright though, honestly, I’m off the opinion the episode was worth sitting through for the May vs. May fight alone, and not just because one of her was in a negligee.

AgentsofSHIELDs2e04

The Flash:

TheFlashLogo

Week two for the newest comic book show on the TV block. After a rather impressive pilot episode, can The Flash maintain its super-fast momentum? With the help of a new metahuman villain, its certainly going to give it a good try.

I feel like this was a bit more somber an episode than the premiere, but that’s actually not something to complain about. I didn’t find a lot here to complain about at all actually. Yes, it can still be pretty corny, but that actually kind of works for the character, especially as unsure of himself as he is this episode. It was nice to see some serious development of the relationship between Barry and Detective West. The showstealer as far as relationships go was the Barry/Iris makes coffee scene. While it parroted the Quicksilver “Time in a Bottle” from X-Men: Days of Future Past in a way, it was good to see Barry pour his heart out to her, even if he did it too fast for her to hear him. Before getting off the relationships, I have to give a mention to Danielle Panabaker as Caitlin Snow. The lecture she unleashes on Barry when she discovers what he and Cisco were doing was a thing of beauty. They’ve hinted at some sort of romantic interest between the two characters in the prequel comic, but we’ll have to wait and see how far the series takes that, especially a believed dead spouse seemingly on the way (it’s known that Ronnie Raymond/Firestorm is going to be appearing on the show and they just referenced Caitlin’s supposedly dead husband as Ronnie).

And then we have Harrison Wells. It’s hard to look at him and not see something sinister running through his mind. There’s just something about the way Tom Cavanagh delivers his lines that says “I’m going to do something horrible by the end of the season.” That and the fact that he’s obviously hiding some major secrets just makes him come off as evil. Like last week’s ending with him, I don’t want to talk about it and spoil things for people who haven’t seen the episode. Let’s just say he shows his true colours, at least to viewers. I’m definitely enjoying this show and right now Harrison Wells and what exactly his story is is one of the biggest draws for me.

TheFlashEpisode2

Leave a Reply

