What I ___ Today: Oct. 16, 2014

Posted: October 16, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , , ,

What I Watched Today: Arrow (season 3 episode 2)

ArrowLogo

After last week’s shocking ending, I have to say this episode of Arrow actually wasn’t nearly as emotional as I expecting, which is good, because I was really expecting to cry this episode. Don’t get me wrong, it’s definitely an emotional episode as the team is dealing with some heavy stuff with Sara being killed at the end of the season premiere (sorry, I gave you a week).

Alright, so I’m a little ashamed of myself. I can’t believe as a reader of the current Green Arrow comic that while I was musing about who put the arrows into Sara, that Komodo never occurred to me as a possibility. Why do I bring him up now, why because he’s the villain of this episode. And they actually do him fairly well, even getting the better of Oliver in the first of the two archer duels in the episode. i also appreciate that both duels felt different from the Merlyn duels earlier in the series. And he survived the episode, so maybe we haven’t seen the last of him. Maybe as part of the Suicide Squad? We’ll have to wait and see.

Elsewhere in the episode, we got the first hint towards Laurel taking over as Black Canary, and a peak at what Thea has been up to in the 5 months since she left Starling City. From the looks of it, she may be becoming the show’s analogue for the character of Emiko from the comics, being Oliver’s sister and training under a Dark Archer as she is. Don’t think it’s a coincidence we got this peak in the episode with Komodo. Also not a coincidence, Tommy Merlyn was featured in the flashback scenes this episode. Maybe my thoughts of him coming back wasn’t that far off after all. And as a final thought, it completely slipped by me last week that Brandon Routh was playing Ray Palmer. i had heard he was going to be on the show, but thhat completely got by me. Also, Ray Palmer is kind of a creepy stalker, but I hold firm that things are going to happen with him and Felicity.

Arrow_s3e02

What I Read Today: Attack on Titan Volume 10

AttackOnTitan10

Have I mentioned how happy I am to finally be ahead in the manga of where season one of the anime ended? Because I really am. After finishing volume 9 I dove almost immediately into volume 10. Big things are happening and I’m starting to see how much season one was just a prologue and things haven’t even begun to get crazy yet. The Titans are becoming a serious, serious thing. I know, that’s a odd thing to say when the series called Attack on Titan, clearly they’ve always been a thing. What I mean though, is that the manga has gotten to a place where they aren’t just a looming threat anymore. No, they are everywhere. Annie and Eren were only the beginning.

Let’s talk about Ymir for a moment. Upgrading from a face in the background to a character that actually matters in volume 9, she took an even bigger step up in this volume, becoming a central focus of the story here. The history between her and Krista (which we learn this volume isn’t actually her name) gets a good bit of time for exploration. This also gives us more insight into Krista/Historia’s character than we’ve ever gotten before as well as her connection to the Wallist’s and the secret of the walls. More important in the context of this volume (Krista and the walls will be explored in greater detail in time I’m sure) is the revelation of Ymir’s secret. It was pretty clear from the moment she stepped up as a character that there was something off about her, so the reveal she too can turn into a Titan wasn’t that big of a surprise. it did make for a cool moment though.

What was a surprise though, was the Armored Titan and the Colossus Titan. You remember them, they’re the two that essentially set everything in this series into motion with the initial attack on Shiganshina. It actually shocked me to see the identities of these two crucial Titans revealed in this volume. Not just finding out that they were characters that have been around since nearly the very beginning of the series, but how casually the reveal happened. It was so casual in fact that I wasn’t sure it was real. It had to be a swerve, right? They wouldn’t just drop that reveal like it was nothing, right? Well, apparently they would because by the end it has become clear that it really is who they say it is (sorry, dancing around it a little in case anyone hasn’t read the volume yet). Now that the reveal has been made though, I have Eren vs. the Armored Titan to look forward to in volume 11. That should be one heck of a fight. I can’t wait.

AttackOnTitan10_capture

Leave a Reply

