What I ___ Today: Oct. 24, 2014

Posted: October 26, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , ,

What I Streamed This Week: Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor and Dragon Age II

Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor:

ShadowOfMordorLogo

I’ve done it! Over the span of two streams this week I finished middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor, at least the story. I think i’m only at about 50% completion. The first stream is about three hours and I literally get to the last mission and call it quits because it was 6am. So, the second stream is roughly one third story, two thirds completion quest. I only played for about 90 minutes, the first 20 or so of which are the last story mission and the last hour or so is side missions and collection in an effort to up my completion percentage while showing off “The Black Hand” skin from the “Power of Shadow” DLC.

Since I don’t really have much interest in 100% the game, I’m probably not going to be playing the game much more, unless the release some story DLC. So, final thoughts on Shadow of Mordor, it’s a lot of fun. Like running around in the Arkham and Assassin’s Creed games, running around in Mordor and getting into fights with Orcs will never not be fun. And I definitely enjoyed this extension of the Middle-earth mythology, I would love them to do more. On that note, by the way ended, I’d be shocked if they aren’t already planning a sequel (as I say in the second video). My only disappointments with the game were the fights with The Tower and The Black Hand (i.e. the two last fights/culminating moments of the game). The Tower fight isn’t a fight at all. It’s a series of stealth attacks thhat culminates in a Quick Time Event. It plays a lot like the Mr. Freeze fight from Arkham City (or was it Asylum, I don’t actually remember), just withough the forced variety of attacks. And The Black Hand fight is entirely just a QTE and is completely anti-climactic. Other than that though, i had a lot of fun in the 15-20 hours I spent with the game.

Dragon Age II:

DragonAge2

In the middle of my three streams this week I played three hours of Dragon Age II. Three hours in which I completely ignore the main story. I do plenty of side stuff, including calling my Uncle out as a dick, getting Aveline a promotion and visiting the local brothel three times. That’s a once per hour average if you’re wondering. One of those time I may or may not have gotten some sweet elf lovin’, much to the dismay of my sister. Though the game doesn’t actually show anything, so who knows what really happened. Also, I kind of abandoned “the red line’ of dialogue choices that I had initially intended on maintaining in favor of just choosing the “most appropriate” option, which ended up making me more sarcastic than angry, which fits me better.

Leave a Reply

