What I ___ Today: Nov. 8, 2014

Posted: November 14, 2014 in What I ___ Today
Tags: , , , , ,

What I Watched Today: Constantine (episode 3) & The Walking Dead (season 3 episode 4)

Constantine:

ConstantineLogo

By the time we get to the end of this season, I think we will be able to look back at this as a very important episode in the series’ overall story. Not so much because it actually plays into what I originally assumed and still believe to be the season’s overarching story; the conflict between Constantine and Nergal, but because it is the first appearance of Papa Midnite and the first round in what will surely be an ongoing battle between himself and Constantine.

This episode was also a very nice play on the classic “Robert Johnson sold his soul to the devil at the crossroads” legend, at least I assume that was the basis for this story, be it original for the show or based of a story from the Hellblazer comic. That said though, it’s pretty hard to deny the majority of the narrative for this episode would have been non-existent if one character had not consistently made bad decisions. And I’m not talking about the blues singer (sorry, his name escapes me at the moment) who originally sold his soul leading to the creation of “the Acetate.” No, this prize goes to Jasmine Fell, the woman who retrieved the Acetate in modern times in order to recover her soul from from the broker she originally sold it to. A sale she made, to save her husband’s life, almost to humor the soul broker who offered her the deal as she didn’t actually believe it was real. Who signs a contract (I would assume in blood) with the devil without taking it absolutely seriously? Whether you believe in that sort of thing or not, whether you have a dying spouse or not, that’s just foolish (and that’s putting it politely). And once she’s recovered the Acetate, and seen it drive a man to suicide, she BRINGS IT BACK TO HER HOME!!! This one act causes her daughter to nearly be possessed by the devil and her entire family to nearly be killed by Papa Midnite’s goons. If not for Jasmine Fell’s poor decision making, this episode probably would have lasted maybe five minutes.

As a couple final notes on the episode I have to say I am continuing to love the dynamic between Constantine and Zed, and Chas as well. And one aspect of the episode that I absolutely loved was the idea that in order to protect himself from the voice of the devil on the Acetate, Constantine popped in some headphones and turned up some Sex Pistols. It felt appropriate, hilarious, and frankly perfect. lastly tough, I do have to say I’m a bit disappointed that again this episode we got no real continuation of the Nergal/Astra story. Hopefully that is something that changes in the future.

ConstantineEpisode3

The Walking Dead:

TheWalkingDead

Ok, so I’m well aware that the fourth episode of the the third season is a really strange place for me to jump into the series here, but that’s where I left off. It’s been about a year since I watched the first few episodes of Season Three and even longer since I watched the first two seasons, but, as you may have noticed I’ve been playing a lot of Telltale Games’ The Walking Dead recently (catching up on that as well)  and that has pulled me back into the franchise as a whole, the show is just the next step, eventually I’ll get back into the comic as well. I also know that there probably isn’t anything that I can say about this episode at this point that hasn’t already been said, but this is my space, so I’m going to say it anyway.

So, what oh what is the biggest thing in this episode to talk about? Is it the ongoing tension with inmates? No. Andrea and Michonne in Woodbury? No. How about T-Dog’s death? Nope, that either. It was definitely Lori’s baby. I get it. I know that this was supposed to be a very emotional, heartbreaking group of scenes, and at first, it was working. then we got to Lori’s big decision. I know I’ll die, but cut the baby out of me in front of my son. The baby has to live. NO! Are you kidding me? Look, I’m not advocating the wholesale murder of children and the elderly so that the able-bodied can survive as featured in the latter half Season One of The Walking Dead game, but in this particular scenario, this is the wrong decision. I understand that it’s this big lesson about doing the right thing because she’s trying to make up for the wrong thing she did by sleeping with Shane, but just no. Just thinking about the baby, what kind of life can this kid possibly have being born into the zombie apocalypse. The kid would be lucky to survive a week, even in a group. And what about the group? They are losing someone capable of contributing in exchange foe someone who can’t, is a drain on resources (not the least of which is time) and a liability anytime the walkers get close. It’s a harsh way of looking at it, but that was really just a terrible decision. And then Andrew Lincoln went and made things worse. Yes, it was supposed to be another sad moment, but personally, I found his reaction when he found out Lori was dead to be pretty laughable.  Does that make me a bad person?

As far as the rest of the episode go, T-dog’s death was sad but, not being from the comics I can’t say I was ever particularly attached to him. And Carol, we didn’t see her die, so I don’t doubt for a second that she’ll be back. I thought that the inmates had a pretty good progression through the episode going from potential enemies to allies. Knowing how the prison played out in the comics though, I doubt they’ll stay allies. And then there’s Andrea. Again, my knowledge of the comics lets me know staying in Woodbury is a terrible idea, but looking at it from her perspective, I can’t really fault her for the decision.

TheWalkingDeads3e04

Leave a Reply

