What I Watched Today: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (season 2 episode 7)

AgentsofSHIELDLogo

Wait a minute…we’re only seven episodes into the season and we’re already getting answers to one of the main plot lines. Is this really Agents of SHIELD? Alright, so I know we haven’t actually gotten real answers yet, but we did make some actual progress in the puzzle of the writing Garrett was, and Coulson has been doing. That’s just further evidence of how handcuffed the first season was while waiting for the release of Captain America: The Winter Soldier.

So there were two main focuses for this episode. The hunt for the newly escaped Grant Ward and a serial killer from the T,A.H.I.T.I. program. While I have been enjoying what they’ve been doing with Ward so far this season (at least until he shaved his beard off), the Tahiti serial killer was definitely the main point of interest for me. It was an interesting idea to equate the writings to a puzzle with more pieces coming together the more sources the writings came from, though they did kind of abandon that idea by the end of the episode in favor of one 3D representation of them from a person who didn’t even realize he was doing it. I also like the idea that what the writings actually represent is a city…somewhere. Nothing from Marvel lore jumps to mind as far as a city that would draw the attention Kree-like aliens, except perhaps Kun Lun, but I doubt we’ll see that city explored until the Iron Fist Netflix series. My personal assumption though is that whatever this city turns out to be, it will have something to do with Skye and her father. But that’s just my guess.

Getting back to Ward, I’m very curious as to exactly what he is up to. It was made very clear at the end of the episode that he’s going after his brother in some way. But it was also made very clear that he’s not working with Hydra (he has said repeatedly that his loyalty was to Garrett not Hydra) and that he seems to be playing some sort of game with Coulson. With only (I’m guessing) 4 or 5 episodes left before the Agent carter break, I’m interested to see how much attention this plot line gets and how much resolution to either of these stories we’ll get.

AgentsofSHIELDs2e07

What I Got Today: Loot Crate

It’s that time of the month…Loot Crate time! Yes, my November Loot Crate is here and I’m going to give you guys a look at the haul and share my personal highlights. Admittedly, this month missed the mark a little bit for me. while it’s full of cool stuff as always, most of the franchises the items originate from aren’t ones I’m particularly into. A couple honorable mentions before I show the full haul and my favorites; the Halo mini figure (I didn’t get a Spartan though), the Mega Man helmet replica (got the Mega buster Blue one), the Street Fighter headband (if I was still a kid I’d probably wear this to school).

LootCrate_Nov_Haul

– Ninjas vs. Pirates T-Shirt

LootCrate_Nov_NinjaPirateShirt

As usual the shirt is my favorite part of the crate this month. But, how could you not love this? It’s Ninjas vs. Pirates! Similar in design to the Link shirt from the crate a few months back, I really like the word collage and half ninja/half pirate design here. The answer is simple though…Ninjas. Ninjas every damn time!

– Super Street Fight IV: Arcade Edition and Lichdom: Battlemage Steam Codes

LootCrate_Nov_GameCodes

So these aren’t really highlights for me in all honestly, but games are games so I’ve got to spotlight them. These aren’t games that I would have picked up on my own accord, but for free, I’ll definitely check out at least Street Fighter. i’m just not that big into fighting games, that’s why I don’t have it already (Mortal Kombat 9 and Injustice are the only fighters I’ve played in probably the last 5 years if not more). I’m still thinking about Lichdom. While it’s an interesting idea, it’s not a game that’s ever particularly grabbed my interest, so I may or may not give that code away at some point in the future.

Leave a Reply

